Snowledge

Snowledge / Blog / Snowledge Ambassador Jed Kravitz Gives Us the Skinny on His Passion for Skiing

Snowledge Ambassador Jed Kravitz Gives Us the Skinny on His Passion for Skiing

September 17th, 2020

We recently connected with Snowledge Ambassador Jed Kravitz to chat about all things powder and his longtime passion for skiing. And here’s his 15/16 season edit that you won’t want to miss—for the sick moves, plentiful powder and the killer music.

Q. Jed, when and where did you first start skiing?

A. My first snow experience was when I was three years old. My family took a ski trip up to Waterville Valley, in New Hampshire. The first day, my brother and I both tried snowboarding, and then the next day: skiing. My brother decided he was going to be a snowboarder, but I liked skiing a lot more because I could just click into my skis and go. I didn’t like having to strap in every time I got off the lift, or the fact that I needed to unstrap to push through the flats. Skiing just felt right to me.

Q. Where’s home base for you?

A. I grew up skiing on the East Coast. First at Butternut Basin in Massachusetts, and then at Ski Sundown, in New Hartford, for my high school years. My dad took us on a trip out to Crested Butte when I was in the fifth grade, and ever since that trip, I knew that I wanted to move out west to ski. I ended up moving to Reno, Nevada, for college because Lake Tahoe was close by, and I’ve been here ever since.

Q. What is your very favorite mountain to ski?

A. Alpine Meadows.

Q. How would you describe your ski style?

A. I feel that you can see my East coast roots in my style. These days I love big mountain skiing, but since I grew up skiing a lot of park, I enjoy bringing those tricks to the mountain.

Q. Who or what has influenced your style?

A. I feel that my friends have had a big influence on my style, but Dave Crichton was huge. Seeing his effortless style in Level 1’s Forward—the fourth release from Josh Berman and Level 1—got me really stoked on skiing. Any time I wanted to get fired up to go skiing I would put on Universal Love, by DL Incognito, and think of his segment.

Q. Who’s your favorite skier to watch?

A. There are so many good skiers out there, so it’s hard to name just one. A few of my favorites are: Candide Thovex, Phil Casabon, Henrik Harlaut, Parker White, Chris Logan, and Adam Delorme.

Q. Care to share about your most epic fail, most memorable ski experience, or both?

A. I’ve had a lot of failures in skiing and also a lot of great, memorable experiences. Skiing is one of those things that you get better by trying, so you’re going to fail a lot during that process. I can recall a handful of good failures I got on film, but couldn’t pick one as being the best. Same goes for my most memorable experiences; so many good times, it’s hard to pick just one!

Q. Which artists or genres are we likely to see on your music playlist?

A. These days I am listening to all sorts of music. Underground hip hop and reggae are probably some of my favorites to ski to, though.

Q. What are some of your other passions besides skiing?

A. Climbing is my biggest other passion, besides skiing. It works out great too, because the climbing season begins as soon as skiing ends, and it only gets better until skiing starts up again when the temperatures begin to drop in the fall. I also like mountain biking and just exploring around outside.

Q. How has the Snowledge app improved your experience on or off the mountain?

A. The Snowledge app is great for me because I love just being able to select a mountain and see what cool things other people are doing there. It creates an online community for me around my home mountain. I also check the app when I want to get other people’s perspectives on the mountain that I’m visiting.

Q. How can people follow your outdoor adventures?

A. I post pictures and videos on Instagram and Facebook mostly, with some fun industry and local pieces on Twitter, but usually post photos from my days in the Snowledge app and then share back out from there. It’s really fun to see other people posting with the #snowledge hashtag, and the feedback my posts on the Snowledge social channels are getting.

Q. Finally, what are you most looking forward to this season? Any big trips planned?

A. Just looking forward to more fun in the snow! The saying: “Any day in the mountains is a good day,” really means a lot to me—especially after being sidelined by an injury. I really just appreciate being able to ski around with friends and enjoy the outdoors. The only big trip I have planned right now is Montana in February. I am really excited to get back up there because the skiing is awesome!

Featured Ambassadors

More articles